top of page

Welcome to my Journey


The Fam Bam

Running in College

​Four years ago my family and I embarked on an emotional journey in the sport of triathlon. The decision was an easy one to make. After years of being in the endurance world, I ran at both the High School and Collegiate levels, I switched to Marathons. The allure of the challenge was this: could I push my body that far? Two years later I had discovered I could but I was bored, I no longer felt challenged and, frankly, I needed a break.

The idea of triathlon became a realistic dream on a sunny day biking around the Bay Area. To look back now and see that Johnathan, it's humorous. What passersby must have thought to see a runner, in running shorts (yes envision the shorty shorts) a t-shirt and running shoes pedaling a bike around. I had no idea at the time, but I had found my passion again.

2014 70.3 World Champ Medal

I came back from that ride and that was it, I made the transition from foot races to triathlon. Fast forward to the present and I am currently in taper (if you don't know the word, you soon will) for my second 70.3 World Championships. I have completed 3 Ironman races and countless halves. I have spent more on bicycles than I have on a car and logged more yards in a pool than miles one drives to work.​

First Real Crash

​The road has by no means been a straight and easy one. My family and I have had to learn to adapt to the grueling training schedule (go big or go home right), while maintaining a relationship and being a father to my two hooligans. I've dealt with the heartbreak of injuries and the devastation of goals that fell just beyond my reach. It's been a hard four years, filled with ups and downs, but my goals and dreams have begun to materialize and take form.

As I finish out this year of racing, I am looking forward to the exciting things to come. I would like to share this journey with you, the highs and the lows, the triumphs and the losses, wherever it may take me.

Finishing 2017 70.3 Haines City

Keep Grinding,

JL

bottom of page